Gui Boratto & Vintage Culture Unveil Stunning Remix of Monolink – The Prey

Having recently announced the finer details of his eagerly-anticipated second studio album, Under Darkening Skies, internationally celebrated German artist Monolink now unveils the latest remix of his hit single The Prey, as he enlists two titans of the Brazilian electronic music scene, Gui Boratto and Vintage Culture, to provide their club-focused interpretation of the introspective original.

Out now via Embassy One, Ultra Records (N&S America) and Sweat It Out (Aus & NZ), Gui Boratto and Vintage Culture’s remix marks the impressive debut collaboration from the two Brazilian heavyweight producers, and follows the remarkable success of Mind Against’s recent remix of The Prey, which dropped on March 12th.  

A delectable slice of raw, intricately textured, melodic house music, Boratto and Vintage Culture’s expert treatment of organic instrumentation, analogue synthesisers and punchy four-to-the-flour drums delivers in spades. Tempering Steffen Linck’s melancholic vocals with juxtaposed euphoria, cascading arpeggios and driving, guitar-led basslines throughout, this opening partnership from the two South American producers is yet another remarkable addition to Monolink’s expansive remix catalogue.

Enjoying a meteoric rise to global stardom over the past five years, Vintage Culture, aka Lukas Ruiz, is an artist who lives and breathes the culture of dance music. The platinum-selling Brazilian artist has clocked more than 1.5B streams over the course of his career, gathers 8M across his social media platforms and currently ranks at #30 in DJ Mag’s Top 100 DJs of 2020 poll. Gracing the cover of Rolling Stone (Brazil) in 2019, Lukas was also nominated as one of the most influential “30 Under 30” industry leaders by Forbes, and has since premiered his very-first Essential Mix for Pete Tong on BBC Radio 1. 

Now, and for the first time in his career, he joins industry stalwart, creative polymath and bona fide dance music legend and Gui Boratto for the duo’s stunning debut collaboration.  A true pioneer in the art of production and live performance, Boratto lies at the heart of the electronic music scene in Brazil, with an unmatched influence that reaches far and wide across the globe. The mastermind behind some of the most iconic records in dance music, including Beautiful Life, Paradise Circus and No Turning Back, Gui Boratto has left an indelible mark on the music landscape over the course of his esteemed and lengthy career.

Prior to the unanticipated global shut down of 2020, Monolink had been touring for three years without a moment’s pause. With a year of live performances put on hold including a run at Coachella 2020, Monolink was finally still, given time to reflect and find authenticity above all the noise. Under Darkening Skies is the culmination of that stillness coupled with Monolink’s tale of realignment. Alongside these themes of self-preservation and personal awakening, he weaves in nature-laden metaphors that juxtapose the inconsequentiality of human life when faced with the weight and power of the natural world.

Already recognized as a titan of melodic techno, Monolink presents Under Darkening Skies as a means to transport the listener deeper into the building blocks of his musical anatomy. He envelops us in the warmth of his lyrics as the brewing storm edges nearer, urging us to let go of our egos, and trusting the support of his musical guidance. 
Monolink – The Prey (Gui Borato & Vintage Culture Remix) is out now via Embassy One / Ultra Records (N&S America) / Sweat It Out (AU & NZ).

Under Darkening Skies Tracklist:

01. Monolink – Laura 
02. Monolink – The Prey
03. Monolink – We Don´t Sleep
04. Monolink – Harlem River
05. Monolink – Into The Glow
06. Monolink – Otherside
07. Monolink – Don´t Hold Back
08. Monolink – Falling
09. Monolink – Under Dark
10. Monolink – Reflections
11. Monolink – Regen (Interlude)
12. Monolink – Take Me Away

Download and Stream:

One day you'll leave this world behind. So live a life you will remember.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Sign up for our Newsletter

Sign up for the latest news, ticket giveaways, discounts & more

More Articles